Winners of St. Louis Film Critics Awards announced
Winners of St. Louis Film Critics Awards announced

The St. Louis Film Critics (of which I am a member), the professional association of working film critics in the St. Louis area, announced the winners of their annual St. Louis Film Critics Awards on Monday, December 16, 2013.

The yearly awards are given to recognize the best in cinema for the year. To be eligible for an award, a film must have been shown in 2013 in the greater St. Louis area in a theater, at a film festival or series, or made available to SLFC members by screening or screener by our deadline for awards consideration.

Films opening in New York or Los Angeles before year’s end for Oscar qualification are eligible in advance of a St. Louis opening, provided the films are made available to members of the St. Louis Film Critics Association by our deadline. This year, among the films not made available for awards consideration, was “Labor Day,” and, therefore, it could not be considered for the SLFC Awards.

This year, the SLFC Association added a new category, for Best Art Direction. The winners of these two unofficial categories are listed separately below our official winners.

Overall “12 Years a Slave” was the big winner but I feel we spread the love around pretty well.

The 2013 St. Louis Film Critics’ Award Winners are:

Best Film

12 Years a Slave
Runner-up: American Hustle

Best Director

Steve McQueen (12 Years a Slave)
Runner-up: Alfonso Cuaron (Gravity)

Best Actor

Chiwetel Ejiofor (12 Years a Slave)
Runner-up: Matthew McConaughey (Dallas Buyers Club)

Best Actress

Cate Blanchette (Blue Jasmine)
Runner-up Meryl Streep (August: Osage County)

Best Supporting Actor

Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club)
Runner-up: Will Forte (Nebraska)

Best Supporting Actress

Lupita Nyongo (12 Years a Slave)
Runner-up: June Squibb (Nebraska)

Best Original Screenplay

Spike Jonze (“Her”)
Runner-up: David O. Russell and Eric Singer (“American Hustle”)

Best Adapted Screenplay

John Ridley and Solomon Northrup (“12 Years a Slave”)
Runner-up: Steve Coogan, Jeff Pope, and Martin Sixsmith (“Philomena”)

Best Cinematography

a tie: 12 Years a Slave(Sean Bobbitt)
and Gravity(Emmanuel Lubezki)

Best Visual Special Effects

Runner-up: The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Best Musical Score

Marie Ebbing and Ren Klyce (“Her”)
Runners-up (tie): Steven Price (“Gravity”) and Mark Orton (“Nebraska”)

Best Soundtrack

T-Bone Burnett “Inside Llewyn Davis”
Runner-up: Christophe Beck (“Frozen”)

Best Art Direction

Damien Drew, Ian Gracie, and Michael Turner (“The Great Gatsby”)
Runner-up: Austin Gorg (“Her”)

Best Documentary

Runners-up (a tie): The Act of Killing
Stories We Tell

Best Non-English Language Film

Blue Is the Warmest Colour
Runner-up: Wadjda

Best Comedy

a tie: Enough Said
The World’s End

Best Animated Feature

Runner-up: The Wind Rises

Best Art-House or Festival Film

For artistic excellence in independent, international, or smaller-budget films that played at film festivals, film series, or had a limited-release run in St. Louis, playing one to three cinemas.

Short Term 12
Runners-up (a tie) Blue Is the Warmest Colour
and Frances Ha

Best Scene

  • A favorite movie scene or sequence

12 Years a Slave- The hanging scene
Runner up: Gravity- The opening tracking shot.

You might also like...